Intentionality & Perseverance

My New Year’s resolution if you will call it that was summed up this year in two words : INTENTIONALITY AND PERSEVERANCE. There are many areas of my life that fall by the wayside if I am not intentional and also many areas that require perseverance to succeed. The main area that affects all other areas is my relationship with God. It takes extreme intentionality to pursue God; to try to meet with Him on a daily basis through prayer, reading my Bible, journaling what He is teaching me, going to church every Sunday and worshipping while at church by His Spirit. It has been difficult since working the night shift and also now being a mom to “find the time” to pursue God. Before I was married I woke up 1 hr before I would need to start getting ready and in my own room would sit and read, pray and journal with God. It was EASY to “find the time” to meet with Him and I looked forward to my time and I saw the fruit of my time as my relationship with God was deep. The past 2 years I would say I have not been very intentional in pursuing God. This is all changing. Ever since Amelia’s birth God has really been burdening my heart with the reality of my influence as a God-fearing woman. I am Amelia’s mom and God has given me this unique position to teach her about Him and to help guide her to the path of salvation and relationship with Him. Life is too short and God’s created beings are far too precious for me to just sit back and not take this blessed opportunity seriously. Not only do I have this opportunity to shepherd Amelia but God has given me many relationships where I have the pleasure of doing the same thing in different aspects. Taking advantage of these opportunities is difficult if I am not walking closely with God. And the amazing thing about the God I serve is He is always waiting and ready to step right alongside of me when I make the decision to turn back and walk in holiness. He NEVER says to me that I’ve taken too long or I’ve turned away from Him too many times or I am just not worth His energy because I will most likely turn away again. He joyfully welcomes me back and steps forward with me right where we are at. When I am walking closely with God EVERYTHING changes. Things that I am passionate about that have taken a backseat to my life become front and center again. Even little things like playing the piano, speaking Spanish, reconnecting with friendships, a passion for learning. All of these things are unique ways God created me and unique means for me to glorify Him. When I am not close with Him I don’t really think about them much and when I do they come across more as a chore than a desire. But when I am close with Him I can’t stop thinking about them and I find excitement and a strong desire to soak myself up with all of these things. I will continue in this year and each year to come to be intentional in my relationship with God as it is the backbone to my life and I will persevere in the trials that accompany this no matter how miniscule or grand the trials are. I love this song by Casting Crowns:

It’s crowded in worship today

As she slips in

Trying to fade into the faces

The girls’ teasing laughter is carrying farther than they know

 

CHORUS But if we are the Body

Why aren’t His arms reaching

Why aren’t His hands healing

Why aren’t His words teaching

And if we are the Body

Why aren’t His feet going

Why is His love not showing them there is a way

 

A traveler is far away from home

He sheds his coat

And quietly sinks into the back row

The weight of their judgmental glances tells him that his chances

Are better out on the road

 

CHORUS But if we are the Body

Why aren’t His arms reaching

Why aren’t His hands healing

Why aren’t His words teaching

And if we are the Body

Why aren’t His feet going

Why is His love not showing them there is a way

 

Jesus paid much too high a price

For us to pick and choose who should come

Leave a Reply

