Homemade Baby Food

So I decided to venture out when Amelia was about 4 months old and do some research on how to make homemade baby food for when the time came. After a bit of research I discovered it would be incredibly easy, healthier and save a lot of money… ding, ding and ding!!! Why wouldn’t I do it? I thought I would show you all a picture guide of just how easy it is to do in case any of you would like to venture on this as well : ) My main source of information was Wholesome Baby Food. Check it out for recipes, tips and solid food feeding guide so you can get an idea of how to progress your baby based on the American Academy of Pediatrics website. At this point I am averaging a savings of $1.50 per day ($45 per month)!

Wash your vegetables. Anything with a skin will need to be peeled first (zuchinne, pears, squash, carrots, etc.). Cut into cubes and add to large steaming pot.


Steam the food.


Once the food is steamed so they are tender, add to a blender. I just bought a Black & Decker Cyclone blender for $39.99 from Target. IT IS INCREDIBLE! I highly recommend if you’re in the market for a new blender. Not to mention the milkshakes it makes … yummmy!


Blend until it is an appropriate consistency for your baby’s stage (refer to the website for stage consistencies). Depending on the water base of the fruit or veggie you may need to add additional liquid to get it to a thinner consistency. I use pumped breast milk. You can use formula or you can also use the remaining water leftover from steaming as it will collect some of the nutrients from the food while you steamed it. Pour it into a good ol’ ice cub tray : ) Cover the tray with seran wrap. I put it in the fridge first for a bit to cool off then I transfer it to the freezer.


Once the cubes are frozen (usually just overnight) I transfer the cubes to a zip lock bag and label it with the type and date (the food is good for 1-3 months in the freezer).


I buy these Take N Toss bowls with lids from Wal-Mart and place 2 cubes from the freezer bag (each cube = 1 ounce of food) (Amelia started with 1 cube at a time but is progressing to 2 at a time). I usually take out of the freezer enough food for the next 3 days and let it unthaw in the fridge. When it’s feeding time, I take it out, stir it and feed my Millie : ) The food is also okay at room temperature for a few hours if you need to go out somewhere or if your baby likes room temp foods.


The result … a happy, healthy and cheaply fed baby : ) Now that I saved some money I’m heading to the mall!!!! Just kidding : )


Please let me know if you have any questions and are seriously considering doing this yourself. I am a HUGE advocate for breastfeeding and homemade baby food and I would love to give you any further tips on this process for myself. Visit the website too as they have TONS of resources and little tidbits Wholesome Baby Food
.

Leave a Reply

