God is Alive and Active… Today

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” ~ Hebrews 13:8

 God has been doing some INCREDIBLE things in our lives recently. As I reflect back on the things He has been doing and the place He is bringing us I realize that over the past 7 1/2 years that I have been a believer, my faith has steadily been declining to an ordinary, complacent, stagnant faith. I don’t recall any specifics of how I got there but I know I was contentedly there up until 3 weeks ago when God began moving in some big ways in our lives.

I know today that I can say with full confidence that Jesus Christ IS the same yesterday, TODAY, and forever. I can believe God to be the same God who performed miracles in the Bible. He is a God who desires and WILL bring believers to a life filled with intense, intimate relationship with Him… a life filled with incredible blessings and joy that is beyond understanding. God is not a stagnant God that you read about in this storybook called the Bible. He isn’t a passive God who desires us to be content with an ordinary life that doesn’t even reflect a following and belief of Him. He wants us to live a radical life… a life that every decision we make and every experience we have is based off His leading and will bring glory and honor to Him.

I have been telling God for awhile that I have been wanting to live this life with Him but in my heart I haven’t really been wanting to. I’ve been afraid of what He may ask of me; afraid of the changes I may need to make; afraid of the vulnerability He may require of me. So… do I really want it? God brought me to a place 3 weeks ago where I had to make a choice… complacency followed by disappointment and distance from God… or present and active faith followed by answered prayers, incredible blessings and miracles from the almighty God who created the heavens and the earth.

And I chose life. I chose to walk with Him wherever He may want me to go (yikes!) and I am so thankful I have because just in these past 3 weeks I have experienced a relationship with Him on a whole new level that I thought only existed in Biblical times or amongst a few friends of mine who are “different”; friends who live and walk intimately with their Creator, who model a walk that I have desired but never thought was possible for me. Well… it is possible for me and for you and for everyone… God desires this for us and asks us to believe Him for it. I pray that all of you may know “what is the exceeding greatness of His power toward us who believe, according to the working of His mighty power” (Ephesians 11:19).

 “But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.” ~ Hebrews 11:6

 “Therfore do not cast away your confidence, which has great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that after you have done the wil of God, you may receive the promise: ‘For yet a little while, and He who is coming will come and will not tarry. Now the just shall live by faith; but if anyone draws back, my soul has no pleasure in him.’ ” ~ Hebrews 10:35-38
 
“Then Jesus answered and said to her, ‘O woman, great is your faith! Let it be to you as you desire.’ And her daughter was healed from that very hour.” Matthew 15:28
 
“So Jesus said to them, ‘Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, “Move from Here to there”, and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.’ ” ~ Matthew 17:20
 

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” ~ Ephesians 3:20-21

 “I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently will find me.” ~ Proverbs 8:17
 
“For we walk by faith, and not by sight.” ~ 2 Corinthians 5:7
Leave a Reply

