The Journey I Am On

I have been wanting to write about this because I have been so excited about this but have not quite been sure how to put it all down in one spot without it being so overwhelming. God has been leading me down a new path towards learning about my role as a follower of Christ as a wife and a mother and a homemaker. I shared previously about Mentorship Through Blogs and God really has been using these blogs and certain desires and interests in my heart to begin me down this new journey. It almost feels like I have enrolled in a new course at school and I’m super excited for all to learn in the upcoming semester : ) The summary for the course is as follows:

 We must determine to be obedient to the Word of God no matter what it says, with no compromises. This is what it means to be a woman of the Word. We must find out what the Bible teaches about marriage, about children, about men and women and their roles, and then we must be obedient with no apologies, no matter what the cost. Is this radical Christianity? No. This is basic Christianity.” ~ Nancy Lewis “The Fruit of Her Hands”

 and

 “Be very careful, then, how you live – not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.” ~ Ephesians 5:17

 I have been most encouraged and inspired by Lindsay at Passionate Homemaking who lives a very intentional life in her roles as I listed above. I have always been a very organized person and have enjoyed planning out schedules and writing to-do lists and setting out goals before me but I have never thought to do this for my daily life; things like a laundry schedule, a weekly or monthly meal planner, a reading plan for books I want to read, a vision and goal plan for my personal life and our family and many other areas. I have been inspired by her to be more intentional in these areas or else my desires will just wash away if I don’t make a point to see them get done. Those books I have been wanting to read for years will go by another year un-read and I will continue rushing at the last minute to wash all our clothes because Adam is on his last pair of work pants and Amelia has peed through her last clean outfit and I will resort to 2 boxes of Pasta Roni for another night because I have no clue what to make for dinner and I am not feeling creative to concoct something out of what is currently stocked in our fridge. These experiences leave me feeling inadequate, frustrated, exhausted and wanting to resort to my couch to sulk in my failures of maintaining our home and being a good wife and mother. And not to mention these experiences leave me short tempered, lazy, impatient, unloving and selfish… hmmm, I would say it’s time to make a change!

 “God is not a God of disorder but of peace” ~ 1 Corinthians 14:33

 My thoughts are running rampant in my mind trying to organize themselves in different categories so I can make sense and use everything I’m learning. I am praying for wisdom as I walk down this new journey. Wisdom to know how these things I’m learning should fit into my life; wisdom to know what knowledge to steer away from because it is not from God; wisdom to apply these learnings realisticly and not in any attempt to become a supermom leading to an independence from God.

 “If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.” ~ James 1:5

 So, I will be sharing about the things I am learning here on our blog since I have been so blessed by other women sharing what they have learned in their own courses on homemaking and maybe God will be so faithful as to use what I’m learning to help someone out there who may be desiring to walk down this same path but is not sure where to go. The first thing I want to share about that is jumpstarting the journey I am on is a Home Management Binder. I am so excited about this and I just know God is going to really bless me and our family with this resource! But my excitement will have to wait for another day… I’ll share about this later!

One thought on “The Journey I Am On

  1. Pingback: Preschool Year One: Theme, Schedule, Organization and Pictures | Every Opportunity

Leave a Reply

