Cloth Diapers: Prefolds & Covers

PREFOLDS: ClothDiaper.Com. I bought all my prefolds from this website as they offer factory seconds for nearly 50% off the average price of prefolds making each prefold about $1 a piece. Factory seconds just means there is something with the stitching or appearance of the prefold that makes it to where it cannot be sold at full price, however the quality of the prefold is not affected. This website offers free shipping on orders over $99 so I purchased all my prefolds for Joshua and Amelia at one time to get the free shipping.

 DIAPER COVERS: I prefer to buy them from Cotton Babies as they are the same price as most other websites but they always have free shipping on every order! They also have some good sales throughout the year. And never underestimate the power of Craigslist! There are a lot of good deals from people trying different types of cloth diapers and selling the ones they decided not to use (that means the “used” diapers have only been used a couple times during the trial period). I have bought a lot of my diaper covers off Craigslist for nearly half the price of buying them brand new.

 Econobum This is a one size diaper cover. Although it is one size I still preferred to use a newborn cover until Joshua was 2 months old and then started using these Econobums on him. I love having these on hand with a 2 year old and a 3 month old because they can share the diaper cover! I snap it all the way closed for Joshua and unsnap it completely for Amelia : ) It is very thin and light weight which helps with some of the bulkiness that cloth diapering brings. And it is super cheap at $8.95 per cover.

 Flip This is another one size diaper cover. Again I did not start using this on Joshua until he was 2 months old and even now it is my last choice for him because it is a bit thicker than the Econobum so I feel like it is very bulky on him. However, this is my favorite one to use with Amelia. It fits her great and I just like the way it functions. I have two with snaps and one with velcro and I definitely recommend the snaps over the velcro. The velcro is already fraying a bit (after 5 months of use) and the flaps can stick out which makes it easy for them to catch on her clothing. It’s one of the more expensive ones but I would say the quality is worth the cost at $13.95 per cover. And Cotton Babies every once in awhile will have a Buy 1 Get 1 Sale on Flips or Econobums!!

 Thirsties DuoWrap These diaper covers come in two different sizes: Size One for 6-18 lbs and Size Two for 18-40 lbs. This is my least favorite to use with Amelia because the covers come with a double leg gusset to help prevent leaks and blow outs but I find with her the inner gusset always gets wet with urine so I have to change out the cover more often than the Econobums and Flips. However, these are my favorite to use with Joshua (huh? it baffles me too… maybe a difference between diapering a boy vs. a girl? or an infant who lays a lot vs. a toddler on the move?). They fit him really well and I don’t have the same problem with the inner gusset getting wet with urine. These come in snaps and velcro just like the Flips but I only have velcro ones. I think I would like ones with snaps for the same reason as I described above with the Flips but it just so happened I found good deals on Craigslist for velcro covers so those are the ones we got : ) Normally they cost about $12.25 per cover brand new.

 Newborn Proraps I used these Proraps in Newborn size for Joshua’s first two months and I LOVED them. They were the perfect size for him and they had the umbilical scoop to help with the umbilical stump so it didn’t get rubbed and irritated. If cloth diapering for me wasn’t about saving money I would probably buy these for every stage for each of my babies as they come in NB, S, M, L and XL sizes. But at this point I can’t fathom buying so many covers for all their different weights. But I definitely recommend them for the Newborn phase as one size diaper covers are just too big for a newborn and these are the perfect cover to start off with. They are still fairly inexpensive at $8.95 per diaper cover.

Here is how the diaper covers and prefolds go together:

 A prefold unfolded

 

A prefold folded in thirds

 

A prefold and a diaper cover

 

 Insert the prefold into the diaper cover like so…

 

And fasten the diaper like a normal disposable one

 

 When I change their diaper I just remove the prefold and replace it with a clean one and re-use the same diaper cover until it is soiled with poop or the urine is soaking the lining of the diaper. One diaper cover can last me a full day and a full night when my children behave in their diapers : )

Leave a Reply

