Contentment in Homemaking

Here is an article from one of my favorite websites At the Well. This article sounded like something out of the story of our life… only a few more years down the road.

 Contentment in Homemaking

 Written on March 6, 2012 by Carrie Martin-Vegue

We got the keys to our first apartment three weeks before our wedding. I remember the first meal I fixed Tim one day as we moved our belongings into our one-bedroom apartment. I couldn’t wait for the day I’d walk in the front door as his wife and be able to truly make our 626 square foot apartment a home for our family.

 Fast forward two and a half years…our small family had grown. We had two little guys join our family and our one bedroom apartment was very cramped. I couldn’t wait until we had a backyard, a bigger kitchen, a bathroom for guests that wasn’t in our bedroom, and a separate bedroom for the boys. My life seemed to be on hold until God answered all of these requests.

 He answered my prayer, but not in the way I thought He would.

 We ended up moving in with Tim’s parents for just a short amount of time. Our goal was to find and buy our dream home. God’s timetable didn’t line up with ours however and we ended up spending eight months with most of our things in storage, in one bedroom, in a home that wasn’t even ours.

 Tim’s family welcomed us with open arms. We had lots of fun together and it was rather nice sharing the homemaking responsibilities with my mother-in-law. But once again, I felt like my life was on hold. I wanted a home where all of my things could be unpacked and put away, a bedroom that wasn’t cramped, separate bedrooms for the boys, and a home I could decorate any way I wanted to.

 After the eight months passed, God answered all of my prayers. He gave us a miracle home with a backyard big enough for the boys to run around, a bigger kitchen, a guest bathroom (that wasn’t in our bedroom!), all of my things were in one place, our bedroom wasn’t cramped, the boys had their own bedroom and I could finally decorate our home.

 God had answered my prayers. And yet, I found myself once again growing discontent. Now I want carpet that isn’t stained, a kitchen that has a window overlooking the outside, a guest bedroom that is decorated and furnished, a bigger office and the list goes on.

 Contentment is a choice. No matter what plans God has in store for our family I’m sure I’ll always be able to find something that I could “improve” upon. But contentment is trusting that God doesn’t make mistakes. Contentment is knowing that God is in control of even the things I wish I could change and then choosing to leave those things in His hands.

 “Now godliness with contentment is great gain…And having food and clothing, with these we shall be content.” 1 Timothy 6:6, 8

 I have seen God provide for our family through the years. I know that He will provide for our future. So I’m going to choose to be content where He has me now. I don’t want to spend my life constantly wishing for things to change. I don’t want to be a wife who constantly nags her husband to be fixing up the house.

 Instead I want to be known as a woman content with the home God has given me. I want to use my home for His glory, as a place to refresh and encourage my family and friends. I want our home to be a godly haven from the busyness of the world.

 It seems like a tall order doesn’t it? But I know I’m not on my own.

 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

 Contentment is a choice and it’s a choice that I want to characterize my life.

 By: Carrie Martin-Vegue

 Her website is: Wholesome Womanhood

Leave a Reply

