Book Review: Organic Housekeeping

 I randomnly picked up this book at the library in Mesa before we moved. Amelia and I were headed to the kids reading room and it caught my eye on a display shelf so I stopped, thumbed through the table of contents and added it to my bag. I had no clue what I was getting myself into. This book is amazing! I ended up buying a cheap used copy off Amazon because I knew it was a keeper. The whole first section I felt like I was reading my own thoughts down on paper and published into a book. That section of course is about organizing! How to keep a manageable home : ) I wish I had my own copy when I read this section so I could’ve highlighted as now my daily “free-time” slot is minimal to go back and re-read and highlight so the solution to this is for all of you to get your own copy!

 She covers organizing the whole house so everyone can live in a more efficient and clutter-free way; kitchen cleaning (i.e. most sanitary cooking utensils, non-toxic cleaning products, how to clean appliances); bathroom and bedroom cleaning and maintenance; LAUNDRY (this has been my go to reference manual for stain removal, laundry aids, line drying, etc.); general house cleaning (walls, flooring, windows, etc.); indoor air quality and how to improve it and what is in your house that is polluting your air quality (simple things like synthetic air fresheners, etc.); gardening and lawn care. 

 One of the key points that I am continuing to think about and that is changing the way I manage my house is a point that most people will not get sick from dirty clothes that are caked with mud on them but many people are getting all sorts of diseases and illnesses due to the chemicals in the laundry detergents and laundry aids that we use to “clean” our clothes when all they do is slather the clothes with dangerous chemicals that smell “fresh” but are actually toxic.

 I have never given much thought to all the chemical ingredients that are in our daily insecticides, pesticides, herbicides, all-purpose cleaners, dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent, and synthetic materials in our homes like certain paints, certain carpet materials, certain candles/air fresheners, and the list goes on. I am thankful that God led me to this book to open my eyes to the toxic exposure that has saturated the air we breathe for my family. It seems it is just briefly touching the surface of why cancer and other illnesses/diseases are on the rise these days since most of what is in our homes is toxic to our lives yet it smells and looks good and is cheap so it must be ok… right?  

 Definitely something to think about…

Leave a Reply

