My Battle with Contentment

Adam and I are at a very interesting turning point in our lives as far as decisions to make. We are facing a time filled with “who knows” and “what ifs”. We are questioning God leading us away from the pursuit of playing golf professionally and if so then where exactly is He leading us to. We have several job offers that can send us in different directions and are seeking His wisdom and peace for which direction to take. Most of the job offers are still focusing on the immediate present leaving us still in a search of “who knows” and “what ifs” for the near future. I am in a personal constant battle for contentment. We currently do not have a place of our own to live and herein lies the doorway for my battle. I desire greatly to pick a place to live, buy a house and settle. I want my children to have a comfortable home and a place where they will grow up and things to feel normal and comfortable. And I want it for myself. Who doesn’t enjoy their own home?

 

BUT…

 

“… I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:11-13

 

AND…

 

“Godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.” 1 Timothy 6:6-8

 God is definitely giving me a lesson in contentment. And it goes so much further than just being content with what He has already given us. God is giving me an eternal perspective of the place in life that we are at. It is easy for me to get caught up in my worldly desires where “moths and rust destroy” (Matthew 6:19-21) but God wants me to put those aside and focus on the eternal perspective, the bigger picture if you will. The things God is teaching us as a family and the way He is growing us which include strengthening our personal walks with Him and strengthening our marriage in communication and oneness and developing our vision as a family for a Christ-centered and obedient home, these things are requiring us to be in this place to develop. God is using this place that we are at to bring our family to the spiritual place He wants us to be. And the God we serve loves us so much that He will sacrifice my worldly desires and not allow them to come to fruition so He can take the time to develop and teach us what He knows is best for us (hmmm… sounds familiar from when I discipline Amelia and ask her to trust me that I know what’s best for her and that’s why I am asking her to limit pleasurable things i.e. TV, candy, etc.). God knows for the Jardon family that it is best for us to be exactly where we are at and He is asking us to trust Him for what’s in the future. This gives me peace.

“Therefore having been justified by faith, we have PEACE WITH GOD through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom also we have access by faith into this grace which we stand, and rejoice in HOPE OF THE GLORY OF GOD. And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces PERSEVERANCE; and perseverance, CHARACTER; and character, HOPE.” Romans 5:1-4

 God is giving me this peace because I know He will “work all things together for good to them who believes” (Romans 8:28) and I just know and am excited to see how He continues to develop our family. My vision for our children and the generations to follow is so big and I want to do whatever it takes to set an example of Godly obedience for our children to follow. This will bring the hope of the glory of God for future generations.

Leave a Reply

