To Everything There is a Season

“There is a time for everything and a season for every purpose under heaven.”

Ecclesiastes 3:1

I have never had to remind myself of this more than during this time of my life. Sure I thought about it when our first child Amelia was a newborn and there were countless feedings in the middle of the night and I reminded myself “this will only last for a season”. Or when I couldn’t walk barefoot in my house because of scorpions and I reminded myself “this will only last for a season”. And even for really good times like a vacation or when some circumstance in my life made things really enjoyable or easy and in order for me not to take it for granted I had to remind myself again “this will only last for a season”.

However, it is so easy to forget the truth behind this Scripture. I have struggled with it all summer long with Adam’s job and our various living situations and our upcoming next season of travelling back and forth between 2 states every 2 weeks while pregnant and with 2 kids. I have really been enjoying the past week where Adam gets done with work at 5 and is home shortly after. We get to sit down together as a family and he can help watch the kids while I cook dinner and help me get them to bed at a reasonable hour and then we can relax together. This is a huge difference from him arriving home between 8 and 9 pm and me trying to keep the kiddos awake to see him and trying to keep dinner warm and he is exhausted from his 14 hour work day! I thought those nights would be endless and I found myself so discouraged thinking this was not how I wanted our family life to be… I allowed myself to fall into the trap of thinking this would be our lives for the next 20 years! How quickly I forgot that to everything there is a season. That was a short season (thankfully) and now we’ll be headed into a new season and I’m going to need to remind myself probably every day that “this will only last for a season”. We cannot physcially, financially and realistically live our lives travelling on and off every 2 weeks and staying with different people. And I know this is not what God has laid out for us to do permanently. So… it will only be for a season.

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end. I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice, and to do good in their lives, and also that every man should eat and drink and enjoy the good of all his labor—it is the gift of God.” Ecclesiastes 3:11-13

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to bring you good and not evil.” Jeremiah 29:11

“A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.” Proverbs 16:9

Whenever I am not remembering God’s promise that to everything there is a season, it is symbolic of me not trusting the plans God has for me. I am not trusting that there is a purpose in this season or that this is directed by Him. I am not trusting that He knows the desires of my heart and would delight in giving them to me in His good timing and will. How much differently would I live if I believed every waking moment when I’m in a hard moment that this will only last for a season and that God will work it together for good (Romans 8:28). It would be easier to make the most of every opportunity because I would know it won’t last forever and I could find peace and joy in my circumstances.

So the next time I am frustrated about a season in my life I am going to ask myself: “Am I trusting God for this season? Am I believing He is allowing this and has a purpose?”

Leave a Reply

