L is for Lion

I can’t describe how nice it is to finally be in one place. We thought I’d be going back and forth between CO and AZ but turns out me and the kiddos have landed in AZ through April or whenever the baby is born. It is nice to be in one place and get a little settled in. And we’re so thankful to my dad for lending us his vacation house for 4 months! We have no idea what we’d be doing without his generosity! So we have set a schedule and a routine which I will describe later as there are some changes to our previous schedule and this was our first week of it and it was incredible! I never knew how much joy a routine can bring not only to the kiddos but to the mama too : )

Circle Time: In our storybook bible we read about the light of the whole world and how God sent an angel to the shepherds telling them about the birth of Jesus. We also read about the three wise men and God revealing the star that would lead them to the baby Jesus. And we read about John the Baptist baptizing. It is so neat to see the progression of Amelia’s ability to learn. She sits very still now and listens intently to each story and typically asks 5-10 questions while I’m reading : ) She was wondering why they were in the water and what they were doing which was such a neat opportunity to really teach her about baptism. I think the concept is still hard for a 3 year old to grasp but I know it is laying a good foundation. We read from My Friend Jesus about the storm that Jesus calmed through His commands. The verse for the letter L this week:

“Let your light shine before men,

that they may see your good works

and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Matthew 5:16

We did letter recognition and uppercase vs. lowercase

Some more letter and word recognition. I’ve also begun using the Scholastic First Dictionary I found at the thrift store for $1 : ) so we spend a few minutes during each learning time and read about some of the other words and pictures that start with the letter we’re learning. This was really neat and I wish I had started this earlier because it helps her recognize everyday activities and objects and that they correlate with this letter.

HPIM4684

We worked on the #6. I have some flash cards from the thrift store for 50 cents that we worked on as well. They have pictures so she counts how many of each picture and then the card slides open and reveals the #.

And we started learning the concept of longer which she pretty well understands but this is good free hand drawing practice for her.

We completed this lion mask craft. This came at such a good time because I wanted to challenge her color skills a little and work on patterns. This was great to start developing the concept of a pattern and she did great!

HPIM4686

We also are adding a bible craft/activity each week. I am using a couple of different books I have as well as things I have found online. This week we learned about sin and how God washes away our sin and make us clean. We took a cup of water and dropped some red food coloring into it to represent our lives with sin and then we poured it out and put clean water back in to represent Jesus washing away the red and making us clean again. This is another difficult concept but it’s never too early to begin the foundation!

Leave a Reply

