Book Review: The Power of a Praying Wife & Family Prayer Journal

photo credit

I must first start by admitting this has been a 2 year read : ) Not because of the content or at all because it was boring or anything like that. I just simply did not keep it a priority but kept it on the list to finish “someday” : ) This book is amazing! It is just amazing how much God has blessed Stormie with an ability to pray intensively and according to Scriptures. The book is laid out with 30 different topics to pray for over your husband. Each topic is about 3 pages long where she gives a brief intro of the importance of praying for this area and usually a real life example of either herself or someone she knows who saw a significant impact in their husband’s lives because of praying for that particular area. She then finishes up with a prayer and some “power tools” at the end which are 4 or 5 scriptures to pray over for that area. The whole book is saturated with scriptures… it is amazing! It really opened my eyes to “praying without ceasing” and praying for everything. I never thought about needing to pray for over half of these things and even if I thought about it I wouldn’t have known how to or where to turn in Scripture to pray over it. This is such a helpful book. I am also finishing The Power of a Praying Parent at this same time. The book 2 years ago inspired me to make our family prayer journal. In it I basically have pulled from this book all of the topics and summed up what she said in a prayer and added in my favorite verses relating to that area. Over the past 2 years I have added personal prayer requests for our marriage and family. Last year I added 2 new sections… one for “generational sins” that I was noticing were being passed down to our children and began seeing the importance of praying for a breaking of those since in our generation and the generation from us. I also added a “praise” section : ) I love my prayer journal and am so thankful for God using this book to have sparked that in me. I use a reusable sticky tab as my “bookmark” and will pray for one section and move the bookmark to the next section for the next time I pray out of the journal. I cannot wait to see some real fruits in the years to come from this.

We can take a stand against any negative influences in our marriage relationship and know that God has given us authority in His name to back it up. p. 15

Praying for your husband will be an act of unselfish, unconditional love and sacrifice on your part. p.21

Before your prayers are answered there will be blessings from God that will come to you simply because you are praying. That’s because you will have spent time in the presence of God, where all lasting transformation begins. p.22

It’s impossible to truly give yourself in prayer for your husband without first examining your own heart. p. 26

Dying to yourself is always painful… But this kind of pain leads to life. p. 28

When we pray we enter into the presence of God and He fills us with His Spirit of love. When you pray for your husband, the love of God will grow in your heart for him. p. 29

The safeguard you have with prayer is that you have to go through God to do it. This means you can’t get away with a bad attitude, wrong thinking, or incorrect motives. When you pray, God reveals anything in your personality that is resistant to His order of things. p. 33

I’m not going to give any more quotes from the rest of the book those were just the introduction and beginning section of the importance of praying for your husband’s wife : ) Yup… that’s you : ) That’s the first chapter and she goes into great detail of the great importance of getting your heart right and honest before God before going on this journey:

“If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear.”

Psalm 66:18

2013-11-16 21.05.53

The inside of the prayer journal with an encouraging verse. At the top are our kiddos names and birthdates… in case I forget haha! Just kidding : )

2013-11-16 21.05.32

The first section of prayers for our children with the prayer requests and scripture that accompanies.

2013-11-16 21.06.08

Prayers for myself, Adam and our marriage

2013-11-16 21.06.30

Leave a Reply

