The Carrot Seed

The Carrot Seed

by, Ruth Krauss

Bible Time:

“My soul finds rest in God alone

my salvation comes from Him

He alone is my rock and my salvation

He is my fortress I will never be shaken.”

Psalm 62:1-2

  • We continued working on the virtue of Gentleness from We Choose Virtues and I needed a little bit extra for the teaching so I found Kids of Integrity and I am so thankful I did! They have a great multi-page lesson plan which craft ideas and readings and questions about some character traits and they had a great section on Gentleness. I loved reading through the readings and it made me realize how important it is to be reading from the actual bible with Amelia. We read through the story bibles so much but I think it’s a good practice to read through the actual bible equipped with chapters and verses. So… I am in the process of trying to find a cute one for her age. Any suggestions?

I actually didn’t purchase much from We Choose Virtues but I found some deals and I got these cute little cards

DSC00755

I got a great coloring book as a pdf file

DSC00754

And the song book which Amelia turned into a coloring page as well : )

DSC00753

BFIAR:

We loved reading the Carrot Seed… okay, correction… I somehow missed putting this book on hold through our interlibrary loan so we loved watching someone read it on youtube… haha! Thankful for youtube! But it was a sweet and short book and I loved the tie in to the parable of the sower concept and that’s what we did most of our learning time on from the DLTK website and I did some learning stuff from the Homeschool Share lapbook

DSC00801

This cute flower craft and little book that says what plants need… water, air, sun

DSC00802

Here is a simplified version of the parable of the sower

DSC00803

Coloring pages from the parable of the sower… there were 4 pages for each type of soil the seed was planted in

DSC00804

Sower and the seed maze

DSC00805

word search

DSC00806

Some ordinal numbers worksheets

DSC00807

Some addition worksheets

DSC00808

We decided to plant some carrot seeds : ) and some other seeds… I think Josh may have licked the soil!

DSC00799

Our carrot seed pots with a seed growth book where we will draw the growth progress on the pages

DSC00756Read Alouds:

  • Sunflower House by Eve Bunting – This was a great book! If we had a backyard this is what we would do!
  • The Tiny Seed by Eric Carle
  • Zinnia’s Flower Garden by Monica Wellington
  • The Parable of the Sower in the Bible (Matthew 13:1-23)
  • We watched the Magic School Bus: Phoebe Turns to a Beanstalk on netflix : )
Leave a Reply

