Book Review: 1,000 Gifts

Book Review: 1,000 Gifts

by, Ann Voskamp

photo credit

This book was a pretty quick read for me. The way Ann Voskamp writes is so different and very enjoyable and it helps to read a book quickly. I felt like I was inside of her head and she was a good friend describing things in a way only good friends can and I really appreciated that. I loved how humbly she wrote. You can see that this book was written alongside a journey she took to understand and learn the content. She wasn’t preaching to anyone but simply fellowshipping and writing so we could all journey along with her. This also was a challenging book and really opened up my eyes to seeing our circumstances with a thankful heart.

“His [God’s] intent, since He bent low and breathed His life into the dust of our lungs, since He kissed us into being, has never been to slyly orchestrate our ruin.” p.17

“That was the fall! Non-eucharisteo, ingratitude, was the fall – humanity’s discontent with all that God freely gives. That is what has scraped me raw: ungratefulness.” p.35

“Jesus offers thanksgiving for even that which will break Him and crush Him and wound Him and yield a bounty of joy… Do I really want this way?” p.36

“…moving the ink across the page opens up the eyes, that he may not understand how it sheds light, focuses its lens, but he only knows ‘that there are eyes in pencils and in pens’…the picking up of a pen isn’t painful and ink can be cheap medicine.” p.49 (first part is a quote from John Piper’s When I Don’t Desire God)

“Being in a hurry. Getting to the next thing without fully entering the thing in front of me. I cannot think of a single advantage I’ve ever gained from being in a hurry.” p.65

“But time is not running out. This day is not a sieve, losing time. With each passing minute, each passing year, there’s this deepening awareness that I am filling, gaining time. We stand on the brink of eternity.” p.77

“But awakening to joy awakens to pain. Joy and pain, they are but two arteries of the one heart that pumps through all those who don’t numb themselves to really living.” p.84

“You would be very ashamed if you knew what the experiences you call setbacks, upheavals, pointless disturbances, and tedious annoyances really are. You would realize that your complaints about them are nothing more nor less than blasphemies – though that never occurs to you. Nothing happens to you except by the will of God, and yet [God’s] beloved children curse it because they do not know it for what it is.” p.125 (as quoted by Jean-Pierre de Causade in Reuben Job’s A Guide to Prayer for All God’s People)

“When I choose – and it is a choice – to crush joy with bitterness, am I not purposefully choosing to take the way of the Prince of Darkness? Choosing the angry way of Lucifer because I think it is more effective – more expedient – than giving thanks?” p.126

“Only self can kill joy. I’m the one doing this to me.” p.177

Leave a Reply

